Part 1: Why I Signed Up for a Half-Marathon

At one point this summer Shelby told me about a half-marathon she was considering. At this race we would get to wear tutus, tiaras, and get bubbly at the end! I enthusiastically said that we should totally do it and then signed up for it that night and sent her my confirmation asking if she had.

Even though the title is hints that this is supposed to be the post where I explain why… I really don’t know why I wanted to accomplish 13.1 miles while still breastfeeding a baby. I’ve spent some time pondering it though… I think I wanted to achieve a measurable goal. Not that I cared to achieve it in a certain time, or in a certain way, but I wanted to say I had finished it, I ran the race. Of course, I wanted pictures for proof ūüėČ

So much of what I do on a daily basis gets undone or I rarely see results to even know if I am doing a good job.

With running… I could have my app, my fitbit, my body, etc all telling me I was doing it!

It became my “me” time this spring and summer after a cold and mean winter last year cooped up inside and in hospitals.

Running truly gives me those endorphins and high that only weirdos talk about. I will forreal tell Micah that I haven’t gotten high in a while if I haven’t been able to run. I love it.

I didn’t always love it. In fact, I only had a handful of¬†running experiences prior to the race:

  • I ran track for a¬†season,¬†I ran sprints with a team (not alone and as fast as possible then its done) – this was in middle school.
  • I weight-lifted for a year or two and we had to run around the track to warm up – this was in high school.
  • I went on a cruise so we ran for like a month leading up to it, my BFF and I wanted to look good in our bathing suits – this was in college.
  • I gained 50 lbs during my pregnancy with Haddon. My sister signed us up for a family turkey trot (5k) the following November – postpartum in 2012.

It was that last one that I decided I really liked running. Not only did I feel great but I saw results. I was hooked. From then on Micah and I would run together most the time. I have fond memories of bundling Haddon up in the dark as a baby and letting him fall asleep in the stroller as Micah and I ran around the neighborhood.

haddybear

baby Haddon all cozy and ready to roll

I ran throughout my pregnancy with Verity and while it was more of a real trot towards the end, I did it! I was really proud of myself. I had big plans to keep it up as soon as I got the okay from my midwife. But like I said, last winter sucked.

runningpregnant1runningpregnant2

Hey there, Verity!

So to me, running and postpartum are closely connected.

After much consideration, in retrospect, I think I signed up for a half-marathon because I wanted to see goals and I wanted to endure.

This might sound so silly… but Haddon’s birth was the longest/craziest event my body had ever been through (he was sunny side up) and when I found out Verity was sunny side up too…well, to be honest, I didnt want to endure that again¬†–¬†I opted for meds. While I truly dont think there is anything wrong with that and to each their own, I think it left me wanting to test my body again…¬†and¬†so, I did.

dcdiva1Hcopies

(to be continued)

Posted on November 2, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

