Training Tuesday.

In my 9-5 job I am an Instructional Systems Designer. Micah still asks me what that means for when he tries to explain it to other people. After over three years, he is starting to pretty much get it, although he simplifies it to: she makes online training.

It’s partially true, that is part of what I do. You know those modules (you probably call them courses) that you are forced to sit through when you start a new job or need to learn something new for the job? Yep, that’s me. Sorry, not sorry.

The truth is while training CAN be incredibly boring (cough bad design or contractual limitations) it doesn’t have to be and in fact it is so vital to the way the world works.

Think about if you sell a product? Don’t you need to KNOW that product inside and out, testify to its greatness, show the benefits, etc!?

If you provide a service, do you not need to understand exactly what you offer, the best way to offer it, etc?!

I can’t go into great detail about some of the awesome projects I have gotten the chance to work on due to confidentiality.  You can visit my LinkedIn Page to see a description of some of them.

Some of my favorite though have been learning about regulations… with the Department of Transportation and the National Institute of Corrections.

Do you realize what truck drivers have to go through in order to deliver our goods and be on the road?

Yeah, neither did I?! We are just consumers of those things and get ticked next to them on the highway. Seriously, after you learn some of the regs though you will never look at a semi the same again.

Anyway, there are SO many things we are ignorant to. How water is regulated in cities to make it safe to drink, how land is surveyed, how prisoners are dealt with, I mean the list goes on and on.

I don’t always love every second of my 9-5 hours. I get frustrated with changes. It gets annoying to edit sometimes. Sometimes I wonder, does this matter at all?

It’s no secret to anyone that knows me that being a wife and mama is my favorite job in the world.

However, I LOVE that I am doing something so much bigger than myself with how I am paid too.

This world it is so much more than about us.

What kind of legacy can we leave behind?

Who do we affect (especially inadvertently)?

Christ tells us to do nothing out of selfish ambition, to consider ourselves more lowly than others, to not let our right hand know what our left hand is doing.

We want to matter though, don’t we? We want to see how WE made a difference.

The truth is no one might ever see it. We might never know the trickle effects of our efforts. Or maybe, we will! (I’d argue it’s a lot easier to say that is encouraging than it is to not let it go to our heads and puff ourselves with pride).

Whatever we do, in work or in deed – do it all for the glory of Christ.

Not yourself.

When you leave, what will you leave behind?

I find myself wanting to think so much more for eternity than spending so much of my time, effort, and money on this world. I’m definitely a work in progress though!

So how does this post, matter to you? To encourage you to work for something bigger than yourself! Whether you are a small business owner, work for a huge corporation and CEO, if you are a farmer, a non paid worker, no matter what you do with your hours! Do it not for yourself, but something greater.

Posted on March 18, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

