These Things.

Living long-distance sure has its struggles.

For Micah, it’s more mental/emotional exhausting I would say… he misses Haddon.

For me, it’s more physically exhausting… I miss his help with Haddon.

Micah is a rad dad and that led to him doing most of the driving to and from the babysitters – which was awesome.  I saw Haddon last in the morning at the house and I would see him in the evenings at the house.  Most of the time Haddon doesn’t even care when I drop him off, he loves his babysitters and he loves his little friends.  It’s those times that he runs to the door and says mama that get me though.

Anyway, one thing I appreciate about being the one to drive him now is that we get sing time and prayer time together.  We pray for daddy, our days, our babysitters, etc.

This morning I had to wake Haddon up because I had an early meeting.

So in the car, I was praying “and thank you God for waking us up in warm clothes, with a warm roof over our heads and food to eat,” and then I added “with these things we shall be content”.

Then I teared up and got quiet – “so please help us be” and… “show us why we aren’t, in your son’s name, amen”. (backseat: “AMEN”)

I was reading this morning in my devotional about how we need to get quiet with God in order to let him teach us who we truly are.  When we think we are good and have figured ourselves out we are in a dangerous place.  In a very short summary, the devo was saying how God will keep bringing things up in different ways until we learn.

So instead of my quick half-hearted prayers of repentance (sometimes I don’t even think it counts as true repentance), I am seeing more and more clearly I need to not pray quick spurts of “Lord, please fix me”, “help me not xyz”.  I need to get to the root of my discontentment, jealously, envy, pride, etc and let Him shine the truth down in the dark soil so that He can bring it to light and make it beautiful.

I need to quit asking for the brown leaves to get cut off and instead uproot the ugly mess.

Anyone ever feel like this!?

But godliness with contentment is great gain, for we brought nothing into the world, and we cannot take anything out of the world. But if we have food and clothing, with these we will be content. – 1 Timothy 6:6-8

Posted on January 13, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

