Self vs. Self – Mom Wars.

I try to be very careful about not getting wrapped up in what the internet has deemed as “mom wars”.  Especially, because I am both – I do my darn hardest job raising Haddon and I work outside the home.

I try to just be who I am and be where the Lord has called me to be right now.  As we all should.  Don’t get me wrong I struggle with this weekly but I do try.

Be considerate of others but you can’t please everyone and you shouldn’t expect to (except God and probably your husband’s preferences if possible).

If the picture of your perfect Pinterest craft makes you really excited about what you did with your kid that day – don’t not post it to Instagram because some moms feel bad they don’t do crafts.  On the other hand, don’t do the craft if only to post it to Instagram.

If you are a working mom – don’t glorify yourself because you are so busy and can handle so much.

If you are a stay at home mom – don’t glorify yourself because you have the responsibility and privilege of “just” taking care of your kids all day.  (btw – I say that “just” with all its awesome implications.  I know taking care of kids all day is some of the most exhausting work there is.)

We should not glory one job over the other, just like we shouldn’t glory one spiritual gift over the other, etc.

Let’s call it what it is – we want to feel valued.  We want to feel important.  We want our jobs to be recognized.

Let’s all do ourselves a favor and glorify the only one worth glorifying – Christ.

Let’s also be grateful FOR one another and TO God and try our darndest to be thankful and content in whatever circumstance He has us in right now.

Let’s do everything for Him, not ourselves.  Whichever self we might find ourselves in right now.

Colossians 3:17

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

 

1 Corinthians 10:31

So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

Posted on October 10, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

