CUSTOMER SERVICE.

Trace, she’s got a mouth

My dad used to say this all the time.  It comes from a funny WI neighbor that he lived next to growing up.  Trace (Theresa) is my grandma Schneider and this neighbor lady used to always tell her what to do.

Anyway, the message is: use your mouth (carefully of course).  If you don’t ask, you will never know.

Here are the following examples of where I have said you know what… I or someone else purchased this product and it shouldn’t be messed up already.  So I always email or get on live chat because I truly don’t love being on the phone and I just tell the deal and the following companies this year have been amazing and I would recommend their products for many reasons, but in a heartbeat because of their customer service.

SKIP HOP – diaper bag

Problem: My original diaper bag for Haddon was starting to fray after less than a year.

Excellent Service: Sent me $80 credit

PLAN TOYS – a toy camera

Problem: was missing a piece

Excellent Service: Sent me a new one.  So I am saving the original to give away.  It still is a cute toy with the missing piece!

SASSY – a Mickey mouse sippy cup

Problem: paint started to wear off

Excellent Service: sent me a new one

SAUDER FURNITURE – my night stand

Problem: the top started to “bubble” maybe from hot drinks?

Excellent Service: Sent a new top piece

KIDCO – a peapod tent

Problem: I jacked it up to the point of no return trying to fold it

Excellent Service: First they sent a “how to fix it video” when it still didn’t return to its normal shape they sent a new one.

Due to how these representatives and their companies treated me.  I will go back.  I will tell my many prego friends to use their products, etc.  That is how you stay in business, have a good name, and a thriving company – be nice to people, have them like you, have good products.

No one wants to go to a place where you are a number, people don’t respond to you, or worse treat you rudely.

For example…

Micah and I had a gift card we received for our two year anniversary.  We didn’t use it at the time because Haddon was 5 days old so we got tropical smoothies and took a (light) walk instead.  We decided to use it this year as it had no expiration date.

To those who know Micah and I you know that we don’t go out to eat a lot and if we do we aren’t going to get crab cakes dishes and fancy extras.  We had a gift card though so we splurged a little.

It was very surprising when our wonderful waitress who had taken very good care of us all night, said she couldn’t take the gift card anymore but could give us 10% off.  Um, what?  So I asked to speak to the manager.  I worked in a restaurant for years and I know there are more ways than that to make the customer happy.  So she came out told us a story about how new management had taken over, but the old owner hadn’t left the funds for all these gift cards he sold.  Well, that was a sad situation but not one I should be responsible for when there was no indication (read no sign saying they didn’t honor them, etc). So she said she could get the new owner out to talk if we wanted, so I said yes, please – someone gave us a $50 gift card, and I don’t want their money wasted.  She got a little tiffy after that and asked if I wanted our meal to come out of her salary.  She went to get her manager and when she came back she didn’t have him and said, yall are good you can leave and started to go back inside.  We said wait we have a remaining balance and she waved at us annoyed said no you don’t and pulled the waitress back inside with her!  We left the waitress a note encouraging her she did a good job but sorry for the confusion and left her a $20.

I’ve never been treated so poorly from a manager, even though they had comped our whole meal they made us feel like the worst customers and because of it I will never go back and I will never recommend my friends go there.

I won’t tell you where because I don’t want to bash the restaurant honestly, but it was in Yorktown, VA.  Hopefully, it was just a bad day and I’m sure it was annoying the switching of ownership didn’t mention the gift cards.  I did learn that day to ask about gift cards upfront before ordering.

I’m so glad I was taught to use my mouth. It goes a long way in helping your money  be well spent.

peapod

Posted on September 6, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

