14 Months.

A little update on our 14 month old toddler!

SPEECH

He is really communicating these days and has to be my favorite thing about his growth lately.

His current words are:

Truck | Button | Spoon | Book | Bottle | Light | Dog | Da | Up | Help | Down | Bath | Block | Ball | Cart | Num Num (yummy) | Cracker | Blueberry | Mama | Meoooooww | No (oh how I hate when he uses this one)| Bird | Drink | Button | Bus | Pool | Bible | God | Hot | Again | More | Pool | Go | Drink | Mole | Bus | Bye | Baby | This | Haddon | Potty | Booty

His current phrases are:

 I love you | All Done | No More | Happy Day

Now don’t get me wrong, he doesn’t say all of these things like they are written and I probably understand them the most cause I’m his mama.  However, I think if you were hanging out with him you would understand what he was saying with those.  Almost all of them have to be prompted; it isn’t like he is toddling around saying all of those clearly and by himself.  I’m super proud nonetheless and love seeing his brain pick up more and more and use what he is learning regularly.

He has started signing more and please, persistence worked!  It finally clicked.

As far as that last word goes, basically, when he is getting his diaper changed and doesn’t want to be, I obnoxiously sing a song about getting a booty changed.  Yes, I made it up and it entertains him and he tries to sing it.  It goes like this… “let’s get that booty changed, gotta get that booty changed, that booty that booty, that booty, booty, booty”.  I hope I don’t regret admitting that.

The words he uses most often are: truck, spoon, book, drink, UP (for the love – up), help, da, again, and ball. Oh, and hot.  He thinks most food I give him is hot because I tell him that so often when he is asking to get up and see what I’m cooking on the stove. So you see we can have a very good relationship even just communicating those words.

DISCIPLINE

I probably won’t ever write too much about that but I’m  not opposed to people asking privately.  Unfortunately, you can get arrested for things like discipline these days.  I will say though that Haddon has a very teachable heart which is amazing to witness but also a very strong will which is a lot more challenging as we figure out how to help shape him and his character without stifling his strong little spirit.

I loved the book:  Shepherding a Child’s Heart and I feel like I learned a lot about myself as well, a lot of hard stuff.  For example, Haddon shouldn’t be disciplined out of my convenience…

SLEEP

Haddon usually sleeps from 8:30 – 7:30 am and sometimes still takes two naps in the day.  Every now and then something disrupts that (like teething…) and we have to retrain for a night but he is a go with the flow type of boy for the most part (as long as he has his blanket and pacifier).

FOOD

The boy eats almost everything.  I recently found out he doesn’t prefer kiwis or brussel sprouts.  I can live with that.

RANDOM FAVORITE THINGS

I love when he sniffs things.  In Pat the Bunny, there is a scented page where you smell the flowers and so just to see him try to sniff things in general is so cute to me.

I love when he points to things to show us what he wants and he says more even if he hasn’t had it yet.

I love that he crawls into my Indian style lap after using all his little boy strength (some of our books are oversized board books) to bring me a book.

I love that if we are reading and he hears the word clap, he starts clapping his hands.

I love that he will point to eyes, nose, teeth, belly button, and moles! I do not love that he sticks his fingers almost all the way in your mouth while pointing to teeth or almost pokes eyes out while pointing to eyes.

I love that he will vigorously rub his chest after asking for something because he can expect us to say, “can you say more, please”, “book, please”, “truck, please”.

I love that when you ask for a kiss he says: “mmmmm” and purses his lips together but he doesn’t actually kiss you and he never finishes the mmmm with wah.

He is so fun to play hide and seek with.  Even though I always hide in the same exact spot (behind the glider in his room), he squeals with delight when he finds me.

He loves balls.  We went to the tennis courts as a family a couple weeks ago and while Micah was teaching me how to serve and lightly tap the ball (I’m stronger than I knew!) Haddon was running around the court with his own little ball and racket.

For this most part, I absolutely love every day of this age.  He eats with us and eats what we eat and we have time after he goes to sleep and before he wakes up. This might sound weird but it truly feels like he is a part of the family now.  Don’t get me wrong, of course he always has been.  We have so much “freedom” back and I am enjoying my sweet family of three before we expand.

Micah and I both will realllly like when he doesn’t drop a lot of food…. cleaning and sweeping/vacuuming after every meal isn’t one of our favorite things!

I am so grateful for 14 (+9) months with our son.

Posted on August 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

