Protection.

“Likewise, husbands, live with your wives in an understanding way, showing honor to the woman as the weaker vessel”

(1 Peter 3:7)

I won’t give details online but if you live life with us on a regular basis you know that our family has been experiencing some opposition with another person in our life.

In our family, I pay the bills, I check the bank account, I make the grocery lists, plan meals, etc.  Now don’t mishear me, Micah does more than his fair share around here.  We seriously are a team. 

Literally, Haddon wouldn’t be fed on the daily if it weren’t for both of us.  Micah packs lunches and I make breakfast and dinner. 

This situation, though, it just naturally fell into a category I would typically “handle”.

However, it got to the point where I couldn’t anymore.  It wouldn’t have been healthy for me to.

Checking my e-mail made me nervous and anxious.  I asked him to take it from me.

Let this be an encouragement: wives, like me, that like to “do it all” – free yourselves from that, whatever it is.  Talk to your spouse about what is just “too much” and let him carry some of that for you.  

Micah took over with this situation and let me tell you the burden it has lifted from my mind and heart, it was so heavy.  It isn’t on his shoulders though.  He doesn’t get emotional or worked up the way I do.

It has been so freeing and comforting to be “protected” by my husband in this way.

I love you sweets. Thank you for protecting me emotionally, physically, spiritually, and all the ways that you do.

Thank you for guarding my heart and mind and always bringing me back to eternal perspective and truth.

ImageI like how you are physically trying to protect Haddon and I from following off a cliff here 🙂

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

