Hungry Caterpillar 1st Birthday.

walking

I saw this theme back when Haddon was tiny, I think on Pottery Barn’s website… and then just started searching hungry caterpillar party on Pinterest or Etsy and well… just do it, select the links.  So see, it may not be original but I don’t care.

Haddon and I had all those eating/feeding problems and I would call him my hungry hungry hippo… so the hungry theme just kinda continued and was solidified with symbolism for me.

It brings joyful tears to my eyes to have him here with us after a whole year – he is SO healthy, growing, and an absolutely delightful child.  The Lord is good and faithful.

This message came on the tag attached to his giant hungry caterpillar:

A Message from Eric Carle: “The Very Hungry Caterpillar is about hope. You, like the little caterpillar, will grow up, unfold your wings and fly off into the future.”

As my pastor told me in pre-baby counseling; from day one you are preparing them to leave you, not for them to stay.

I might have gone a little overboard for a 1st birthday… but I love event planning so how could I not have fun with my own kid?!

My friend Brittany and I secretly scheme up doing events together professionally someday.

So here is a recap of Haddon’s 1st Birthday Party…

A few of our professional 1 yr old pictures by Lindsay Fauver Photography

ImageImage

ImageImage

caterpillarhands

The only food served was food that the hungry caterpillar ate, so the menu was as follows:

Apples | Pears | Plums | Strawberries | Oranges | Sausage (bbq lil smokies) | Salami | Swiss Cheese | Lollipops | Cupcakes | Ice cream Cones | Pickles | Watermelon | Cake | Cherry Pie | A Green Leaf (spinach salad)

*NOTE – if the nice lady at Harris Teeter tells you that balloons will last 24hrs, do not believe it*

food

Of course an extra cake because it’s his birthday –

cake

cake2

*I may or may not have sliced my finger open cutting up all the fruit….*

Favors were plain sugar cookies made by my mother in law and adults got to take homemade clay caterpillar bookmarks that I made.

butterfly

bookmarks

Guests left their favorite memories from the past year with Haddon on green dots. I will assemble them into a caterpillar of course.

memory

  • Invitations – etsy
  • Bracelet – etsy
  • Haddon’s jon jon – etsy
  • Felt Food – etsy
  • Shoes – Tiny Toms
  • Red Shirt – Once Upon a Child
  • Polka Dot Garland & Red Dress – my amazing friend; Brittany White
  • Printed Pictures and one year old shoot – Lindsay Fauver Photography
  • Paper and Clay Projects – Michael’s
  • Cake Head – my talented sister in law
  • Cupcake Body – Extraordinary Cupcakes
  • Fabric used as backdrop and tablecloth will be turned into a blanket or something (we are still deciding) by our pastor’s mama.

house

Posted on June 25, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is adorable and amazing! I especially love the caterpillar with all his monthly pictures! Thanks for sharing.

  2. Michele Schulker

    So awesome – did u buy fabric at Nancy’s? Heehee. Miss u guys!

Leave a Reply

