Mothers aka Nurturers.

I am thinking about what it means to be a mother as “mother’s day” approaches.

I have always had an awesome mama.

I gained an awesome mama through marriage.

I think I am an awesome mama (most of the time).

I can’t help but think though, for some women, this is a painful day.

A reminder of what they don’t have and what they long for.

I feel so much joy to have Haddon and my moms.

I know that not everyone has a great relationship with their mom or mother in law.

I know friends that want to experience pregnancy, birth, adoption, etc. and they don’t know if it’s in God’s plan for their life…

There is nothing I can do but be thankful, pray, and offer encouragement.

So, would you like to know something so encouraging to almost all of us women?

That we are designed and capable of mothering.

I looked up mother in the concordance.

It can be a word used to refer to mothering… humans, relationships, animals and even as a place,  figurative language, or symbolically.

Eve was called the mother of all living, before she gave birth to sons.

How awesome is that?

Don’t most women mother humans, relationships, and/or animals?

Probably a lot of you mother all three.

Being mothers should not define us.  Our identities are in Christ.

Mothering is a gift we get to take part in.

No matter what your role of mothering, thank you for the way you nurture life.

If there is one definite word to characterize my understanding of mothering a human and parenting this year, it is: different

All families are different.

All situations are different.

All children are different.

All mothers are different.

Image

Happy Mother’s Day!

May you rely on His strength alone to be the best mother you can be, to whatever and whoever He has allowed you to mother.

Posted on May 6, 2013, in Baby, Christian Women, Pregnancy, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. heck yes! I read parenting books for my students!

Leave a Reply

