10 Months.

DSC_0357

At this point I don’t feel crazy for planning your first birthday!

You are growing up quickly little one.

It was so great to spend over a week together on our family adventure to TX.

You were a champ and even did better than mama sleeping outside and hiking long distances (it probably helped that you were carried on our backs…).

Our family loves you so much and it brings me so much joy to see them with you.

This past month you got your two top teeth.

You are starting to balance without holding on to things, coast along toys, and can walk (a little) while holding on to your hippo walker.

You are a fanatic over certain toys and books (frog friend, duck, pat the bunny, veggies tale books that sing)

I am convinced that you talk.  You say mama (but is sounds more like mum mum mum), dada, ba (for bottle, book, block, bird, bear) really ba is what comes out of your mouth the most I would say, when you see a dog you say da, and open your mouth for kisses.  You also grunt a whole lot.  I think you want to say so much more than you are capable of right now.  So anyway, it is still more babbling than talking but it is the best!

You stopped nursing about a week ago, on your own.  I wanted to at least make it till a year but one day you wouldn’t do it, I tried to make you and you refused.  I realized how unnatural that was.  It was then that I realized that part of our relationship was done.  You haven’t tried to since.   I am so thankful that the Lord is faithful in not letting me feel guilty, depressed, etc about it.  I worked SO hard for a long time.  I don’t say that out of pride, it’s just that it was a struggle for us for a long time, I never made a lot, have a super slow let down, and had to pump all the time at work, on business trips, etc just to keep my measly supply up and I don’t regret one second of it.  I am thankful and I continue to be.  Thanks for making it easy for us to move on.

I was a little nervous that our bond wouldn’t be the same.  HA, boy was I wrong.  I can’t leave your sight when we’re home right now without you “scurrying” as fast as you can into whatever room I am in yelling “mum mum mum”.  I don’t know if it’s your age, the transition back from TX, quitting nursing, or a combination of all of it but this separation anxiety is annoying/pretty cute.  Just don’t do that too long please… I’d like to be able to go to the bathroom without you scratching my legs.  You still love your babysitters and strangers though!  That is a blessing; it’s just something about when we’re home you need to be with me…

You are the most extroverted baby I have ever seen.  You literally crawl on people at bible study and just make the rounds to see everyone who is there.   Seriously, you can be in the worst mood at home and we go some where and you LIGHT up.

Every month just gets better and better sweet son.  We love getting to know you.

You sweet son, are my greatest, hardest, fascinating, most motivating, delightful, changing, joyous, entertaining, hard earned and undeserved (in a good way) work.

Check out Haddon’s previous months here.

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Baby, children, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You’ve done such a wonderful job breast-feeding Haddon. It is not an easy feat! One day he will thank you for all your hard work and dedication to him. It’s the end of an era, but new bonds will be definitely be formed. You’re an amazing mother Sarah and I’m so proud of you. Miss and love you all xoxo

  2. thanks sweet friend.
    I so appreciate your words! he might thank me and also tell me he never wants to hear about him breastfeeding! bahaha
    miss and love you xoxo

Leave a Reply

