A Letter on Love.

Son,

Today is a silly day called Valentine’s Day! 

It has weird origins, but nowadays people mostly use it as a chance to buy cheap chocolate and roses. 

I thought I would take this opportunity to write to you about love.  There are so many definitions of love, and different kinds of loves.  There are many things I don’t want you learning from society and how to love and what love is definitely tops the list.

Because daddy and I believe in the teachings of scripture we don’t think there is a love greater than sacrifice… 

 “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you. 13 Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends. 14 You are my friends if you do what I command you. 15 No longer do I call you servants, for the servant does not know what his master is doing; but I have called you friends, for all that I have heard from my Father I have made known to you. 16 You did not choose me, but I chose you and appointed you that you should go and bear fruit and that your fruit should abide, so that whatever you ask the Father in my name, he may give it to you. 17 These things I command you, so that you will love one another. – John 15:12

That is such a rich passage baby. 

Christ came and laid down His life so that others could live fully and safely in the Father’s love, so that they could love Him.  We know how to love Him, because He made it known to us, His commandments tell us how to love Him and others so well.  We know how to love because He loved first.

So you see, it isn’t about feelings and butterflies in your tummy and thinking someone is pretty (those are fun extras)!  For example, when I see you and I say “heart melt” or “I love you to pieces Haddon Isaiah”!  Those are my feelings.  If I said those things but I didn’t care for you, or look out for your interests, or only did things I liked and not things that you liked or needed, then I wouldn’t really love you. 

When you love someone …

You sacrifice for them. 

You treat them like you want to be treated, like they want to be treated. 

You tell them hard things to hope they grow. 

You encourage them in the gifts God gave them. 

You have self-control and lay down your biggest desires for them. 

You protect them. 

You provide for them.      

You pray for them.

You love them second. 

You love God first and foremost, with all your heart, soul, strength, and mind.

Only then, can you attempt to love someone perfectly.  And it won’t be perfect. 

God’s grace can help you do it well though.

You have a good example in your daddy Haddon.  He loves so well, and not just mommy.

If God sees fit to give you a wife someday, I hope she loves like that, like Christ does.  I hope she never knows a day when she didn’t love Him.  If I’m around to know her, I hope she loves me too (just sayin)!

Your dad and I, we kiss in front of you, we hug, we cuddle, we argue sometimes, but I hope you will also see the way we sacrifice for you, protect and provide for you, and so many other things baby.

When you love someone you’ll do anything, even lay down your life for them. 

I pray you grow into that kind of man Haddon, a man who knows how to love.

We do love you so so much sweet son. 

(Last night daddy wanted to wake you up at 10pm to play and cuddle, I wouldn’t let him)

Image

Posted on February 14, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

