A Mother’s Lullaby

sleepingbaby

Last night going to bed, Haddon and I read a book called “I love you more”.

It’s a flip book about a “war” between a mom and her son about who loves who more.

When it was finished I looked at his sweet baby face and prayed, may the Lord bless you and keep you, make His face shine upon you and be gracious to you, and give you peace.

I put him in his bed awake but sleepy and his head popped right up like a little ground hog.

The last few weeks have been a little unpredictable when putting him to sleep.

If all his physical needs are met sometimes I let him cry himself to sleep.

When I can tell his teeth hurt sometimes I give him Tylenol or teething tablets.

Sometimes when he has emotional needs I want him to know I’m there.

I turned off his light and just started humming lullabies.

He made his little “nom nom” noises on his pacifier and drifted off to sleep.

It isn’t always that easy (especially lately) but last night was sweet.

Here are two of my favorites:

Shirley Temple/Goodnight My Love:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lk_89SuvDjQ

Goodnight my love
Your Mommy is kneeling beside you
Goodnight my Love
To dreamland the Sandman will guide you
Come now you sleepy head
Close your eyes, go to bed
My precious sleepyhead
You mustn’t play peek-a-boo

Goodnight my love
Your little Dutch dolly is yawning
Goodnight my love
Your Teddy bear’s called it a day
Your Dog is fast asleep, my but he’s smart
Sleep tight my love, goodnight my love
God bless you, pleasant dreams sweetheart

Goodnight my love
The tired old moon is descending
Goodnight my love
My moment with you now is ending
It was so heavenly, holding you close to me
It will be heavenly
To hold you again in a dream

The Stars above
Have promised to meet us tomorrow
‘Till then my love
How dreary the new day will seem
So for the present dear, we’ll have to part
Sleep tight my love, goodnight my love
Remember that your mine, sweetheart

Kristyn Getty/A Mother’s Prayer: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-mtGp-hpJJs

Before you close your eyes to sleep
I have a promise still to keep
As I hold you in my arms
I pray your little frame grows strong
And that faith takes hope while you are young
This is my prayer for you

Hold my hand, I’ll teach you the way to go
Through the joys, through the years
The journey of these years
May you trust Him till the end
May you trust Him in the end

This world is not as it should be
But the Savior opens eyes to see
All that’s beautiful and true
Oh may His light fill all you are
And the jewel of wisdom crown your heart
This is my prayer for you

Hold my hand, I’ll teach you the way to go
Through the joys, through the tears
The journey of these years
He is with us till the end
He is faithful till the end

You’ll travel where my arms won’t reach
As the road will rise and lead your feet
On a journey of your own
May my mistakes not hinder you
But His grace remain and guide you through
This is my prayer for you

Take His hand and go where He calls you to
And whatever comes, seek Him
With all your heart
This will be my prayer for you

Father hear my ceaseless prayer
Oh keep her in your care

Posted on January 16, 2013, in Baby and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Love this, so beautiful! I want to print out those lullabies and sing them to my daughter 🙂

Leave a Reply

