Hungry, Hungry Haddon.

The truth is that title is a lot lighter than my heart and mind have been this week.

Last Friday, Haddon’s pediatrician said I had two weeks to get his weight up.  He hadnt lost any weight but he definitely wasnt meeting the minimum 4 oz a week gain requirement.

I suspected… something about his nursing had changed, he was little, I had mastitis twice (once in both breasts), everyone would say “he’s 5 weeks, oh he must have been tiny at birth”… no, no he wasnt…, but the biggest give away… his anterior fontanelle would sink when he needed to be fed (I learned later that was a sign of dehydration or malnutrition).  It would go away when I would feed him though so I didnt think it was that big of a deal.

and so, it has been a week of trying to fight off worry, anxiety, fear, self-doubt, pride, etc.  To say I’ve been struggling a little would be an understatement.

I have learned more this week about breastfeeding, milk ducts, milk, weight gain, let down, baby poop, herbal vitamins, latches, galactogogues, milkin cookies, make at home lactation cookies, pumping, breast size storage capacity, sleepy eaters, foremilk/hindmilk imbalance, etc than I ever thought possible.

I have also learned, and probably the most valuable lesson of all – to listen to my son’s needs and to be patient with him.  A lesson I’m sure I will relearn a thousand times in his life.

I have also learned – use LLL.  Lactation consultants are awesome.  So are moms that have nursed, or even tried to.  Thanks for your encouragement ladies.

I have learned to communicate with my husband.

I will save you the MANY different details of what I suspected, how I am trying to change things, etc but let’s just say it’s been an emotionally, physically, and spiritually challenging week.  Maybe if I have a great success story, I’ll share what worked for us.  Or if I dont, want I tried and it still didn’t work.  At one of my showers one of the wise mamas said we’re sacrificing whether we sacrifice our bodies to breastfeed or our money for formula. amen.

One of the first nights since the doctor’s appt I found myself on my knees begging God to give Haddon enough food to eat, not too much, not too little, just enough manna as He gave the Israelites in the wilderness.  I found myself repenting for all the times I said “God probably didnt let my boobs get big during pregnancy because I would have liked that too much”.

I think things are looking up, I feel better, Haddon seems more satisfied, he even feels a little heavier 😉  time will tell.

Pray for us please.

Phillipians 4:6 & 7

6 do not be anxious about anything, but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known to God. 7 And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Do you guys have any breastfeeding woes?  How did you handle them?

Posted on August 2, 2012, in Baby and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

