Gift of Life.

Just reflecting a little on life today… seems fitting.

Of course, I am very thankful to be physically be alive and well but I am even more grateful to be spiritually alive to what my Creator has intended for this earthly life.

I realize each day is a gift.  There is no guarantee of tomorrow. 

So many blessings, so much to be appreciative of and content with.

I’ve shared my birthday with many people before, mom used to plan really fun little birthday parties, and when I grew older we would usually at least get together to eat and have dessert.

Something new this year- I’ve never actually shared my body with someone on my birthday…

a friend asked me if I felt any different being 26, and I said no, but what feels different is having 35lbs strapped to the front of your body.

— 

Haddon,

You made me a mother this year, thank you for that gift.

Besides your daddy, no one has ever taught me to be so sacrificial, less vain, putting others needs and desires before my own.

It’s not always easy and no doubt it will just get harder, even if right now I can’t cross my legs and my back feels like it is bending like a bow.

Speaking of bows… I read this amazing quote yesterday:

“You are the bows from which your children as living arrows are sent forth.  The archer bends you with His might that His arrows may go swift and far. Let your bending in the archer’s hands be for gladness.” – Khalil Gibran

Our pastor reminds us of the amazing truth that you are on loan to us little one. God chose me and daddy to be your parents, to raise you up and send you out.  You might be my baby right now, but I must constantly think of and help you prepare for making your mark for Him.  You have given me a new sense of purpose and a new role for my life, I’m 26 this year Haddon and Lord willing I have a lot left to do here, and I love that you are a huge part of that.

So as I continue to bend (kind of physically) but mostly figuratively, be patient with me sweet one, forgive me a lot, and let me love and teach you.  I know you will teach me more than I could have ever imagined.  You already have.

What I’m really excited about is celebrating YOUR birthday next month.

You are already such a gift to us!

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Baby, Birthday, children and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

