Definition of Marriage.

Disclaimer: I am not writing this post to argue with anyone, so please save your energy for another blog if you do not have the same beliefs and that is your desire at the end of this post.

I use this blog as a platform of my faith and as a journal for my family.  That is what you are reading if you visit here.

I believe in the truth of scripture.  I believe that all of it is profitable. (2 Tim 3:16-17)

I believe you have to read it very carefully and have direction from the Holy Spirit to understand it fully.

I believe that marriage is as serious a covenant as can be- almost as serious as the one God made with His children (I said almost, after all, it is just a picture of it).

I believe that marriage is a God-ordained covenant that God defined and uses to refine and sanctify us.

I believe in God as creator and sustainer of the entire universe and all things in it, including and especially people.

I believe that God gave the first definition of marriage. (Genesis 2:18-25)

Thus, I cannot bring myself to believe we have the right to give marriage a new definition. “A definition of marriage that was established on Day Six of Creation and has been the benchmark of civilization for 6,000 years.” – Doug Phillips

Taken from John Piper’s blog (which I encourage people to read, which is in no way hateful, but very factual, according to Piper’s and most conservative Christian’s beliefs):

“God ordained marriage with the words: “A man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and they shall become one flesh” (Genesis 2:24).  It is one thing to tolerate sin. It is another to build society on it.”

I do not believe in hating on people for their sin.  I would despise being hated on for my sin.

I do believe in loving people.  I do believe pointing people towards Him is the most loving thing we can do.

I will always think its interesting/unfortunate we talk about “certain” sins more than we do others.

What about pride, selfishness, covetousness, etc.  How come we don’t get in fueds and uproars about those things?

I do not believe in judging unbelieving, unrepentant people by God’s standards.

However with all of that said –

Just as public laws wouldn’t get changed or made if people didn’t speak out, God’s laws wouldn’t be remembered if people did not continue to tell them.

I have a responsibility to teach my son about God and call to remembrance the things God has done and said.

He is not going to grow up in a world where they are the most popular (obviously).

And so, with all this talk/fighting on the internet.  This is my very small way of standing up for what I believe God meant when He made marriage and why I will not vote otherwise.  Even if I get hated on by the people that tell me to stop judging/hating/etc (John 15:18–19)

I hope I have honored Him and His word like He commands 1 Peter 3:15

15 but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect

Posted on May 10, 2012, in Bible Verses, children, Christian Men, Christian Women, Marriage, Sin, Thoughts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Pamela Hamilton

    “What about pride, selfishness, covetousness, etc. How come we don’t get in fueds and uproars about those things?”

    Well that’s an easy question to answer!

    For a couple of reasons. One, we are all guilty, to some degree or another, of those sins. We can’t cast stones at someone for being selfish, for example, because that means casting stones at ourselves. We could, of course do that, like Newt Gingrich condemning Bill Clinton for the Monica Lewinski debacle while he was cheating on his own wife, but then we only look stupid.

    Second, pride, selfishness, and covetousness aren’t nearly as sexy as gay marriage. For all our prudishness, or at least outwardly proclaimed prudishness, Americans are obsessed with everyone else’s sex lives.

    That all being said, I want to believe like Obama does, that those people who do not support gay marriage are doing so because they are moved by their faith and not by hatred of people who are different. I hope and pray that we are wearing our rose colored glasses for a very tiny minority.

    • Perhaps added to the list of pride, selfishness, covetousness,etc.. we should add the fact that we are all adulterers.

      “If any man looks at a woman with lust in his heart, he has committed adultery”-The most loving Man in the world, Jesus Christ.

      An aspect of every renunciation of redefining marriage should be the proclamation that we are all guilty of not loving our spouse as is most beneficial and according to God’s plan, and therefore we all on the same platform in need of Christ’s purity and not our own. My admittance of my own bent toward sin doesn’t make me any less equal, it makes me in need of a Savior.

      Great post lovely wife!

  2. Daniel Banks

    Now that’s the statement I’ve been looking for, with out the fire and brimestone attached! These are my friends people!

Leave a Reply

