“Plans”

My current plans hopes for things practically dealing with baby boy:

  • Natural delivery
  • Breastfeeding
  • Cloth diapering 95% of the time (Softbums are so cool)
  • Sleeping in crib from the beginning
  • At least 6- 8 weeks completely off work with him, then work part-time from home for another 4 weeks
  • A schedule that works for him and us by 8 weeks

{Lots of those things are controversial and “hot-topics” in the blogosphere, parenting books, etc}.

Some of you may be thinking “yea-right” but let me assure you that I am one of the most realistic people I know.  A girl can hope.  These are some of my practical hopes.  I’m excited to see how things work out. 

Since the beginning of this pregnancy I have said the whole process will be one where I learn to trust God, and see Him demonstrate Himself faithful.  He has definitely not proved me wrong yet.  Although I must admit things have happened in mysterious and wonderful ways, but not ways that I would have “planned”.    

Hope is the most wonderful gift.  It doesn’t disappoint. 

When you have faith in someone who you trust to work all things out for good, that will give you strength to endure, that can give you self-control, patience, etc, that promises to take care of you, that will never give you more than you can bear, and that knows the plans He has for you, it’s really not difficult to not get overly anxious, fearful, or nervous.

So I have faith and trust that no matter what happens whether it is according to my hopes or not, He has good plans for this family, plans that will see He is glorified through it all.

My hope is in you Lord.  My strength is in you Lord.  All.Day.Long.

Let us never forget we can’t rely on ourselves, our plans, or even our hopes. 

We must rely on the Giver of Life and what He has or doesn’t have for us.

Posted on May 4, 2012, in Baby, Christian Women, Godly Home, Pregnancy, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. you’re hopes echo a lot of what I hope for in the future. It saddens me that so many moms get worked up over other mom’s choices – I’ve already had people try to argue w/ me, and I’m not even a mom (or pregs)! you have such a great attitude about it. I’m excited for you and Micah, and I look forward to hearing how you like cloth diapering and if the sleeping in the crib thing works well for you. that’s what my mom did w/ my siblings and all of our foster babies.

  2. well, I’m certainly not having a baby boy but all that stuff about hopes and plans and letting God take the wheel certainly resonates with me right now – thank you for the reminder!

  3. Thanks for this reminder of truth. Praying that God continues to show HImself faithful to you as you walk trusting in Him.

Leave a Reply

