Second Trimester.

I cant believe I’m almost into my third trimester.  I’ll be 25 weeks on Saturday.  So, a little update on where/how I am!

Gender

You probably saw we are expecting a little boy! We love calling our son by name – Haddon (pronounced “Had-dun” not “Hay-den”) Isaiah.

Research

Name it and I have probably been looking it up.  We plan on a hospital natural birth using the Bradley Method and have signed up for fast track classes in May (they recommend a 10-12 week course, and frankly we just don’t have that kind of time commitment to give right now).  I have been doing a lot of reading and am really looking forward to trying this method.  It is just the right mix I think of doing things naturally and encouraging medical help if your body or baby needs it.  The idea of birth used to either a) gross me out or b) freak me out.  It’s not that it doesn’t do either anymore… haha but I feel so much more informed on…well, everything.  There is so much to know.  If you are a pregnant mom for the first time, do yourself a favor and read up on your body, what happens to your baby, etc!  I can’t imagine going into labor ignorant of what I’ve been learning.  Birthing books I recommend so far are: Natural Childbirth: The Bradley Way, and Husband Coached Childbirth. I have a long list of others but dont want to recommend them until I get to them.

Granted…this is all hoping I have a very normal labor.  I know not to be unrealistic though.

 

Registering

This was fun of course! I only went with amazon.com because frankly I hate going to stores, and I don’t like how there are a) too many options, and b) too many of the same “theme” of things.  I went with lots of neutral stuff so it can be reused and requested boy specific things as well.  One of my favorite parts of registering was that on Amazon you could put in comments/notes to the side of the item, so I pretended to be Haddon and state why we were requesting the particular item.  I tried to keep it pretty minimal and simple.

 

Body Changes

Well obviously my body looks a lot different than it did in the first trimester.  I started showing a lot around 20-22 weeks.  I love it.  It means he is growing.  Don’t get me wrong… as a girl who has always been small I struggle a tiny bit when I see the scale, but I collect my thoughts quickly.

As far as health, I am counting my blessings.  I am almost an ideal “by the book” pregnancy.

I have dealt with some bad dreams, a little trouble sleeping, a few leg/foot cramps, some heartburn, and now a sore back if I do too much, but I really can’t complain.  I still feel great. 

 

Emotions

There have been a lot of those flying around for obvious life change reasons, plus hormones.  One time I had a break down because Micah told me he loved me and wanted to spend time with me, and one time because he pretended to be a husband that just got home from work and was like “where is dinner, can you bring me a beer?”  I lost it.  Haha He just laughs with me and asks if there is anything he can do.  Nope babe, just a little crazy right now.

Something else though is sometimes I feel things deeper than I used to.  Deeper appreciation for Micah, deeper love for Haddon, deeper concerns, etc.

To love at all is to be vulnerable. Love anything, and your heart will certainly be wrung and possibly broken. If you want to make sure of keeping it intact, you must give your heart to no one, not even to an animal. Wrap it carefully round with hobbies and little luxuries; avoid all entanglements; lock it up safe in the casket or coffin of your selfishness. But in that casket- safe, dark, motionless, airless–it will change. It will not be broken; it will become unbreakable, impenetrable, and irredeemable.” – C.S. Lewis

I am SO vulnerable right now.

 

Baby Movement

It’s one of my favorite things in the world when I feel Haddon.  It started out as light little flutters and every week they get stronger.  The first time I noticed a huge difference, it literally felt like he was wiggling around in there, or dancing, swimming, something!  You could see my stomach skin move in waves.  Micah enjoys feeling them too and always yells at him through my stomach wall: “good job buddy, keep up the good work”.  Haddon gets stronger all the time.  I wonder if that means he likes something or hates something… or does he just move around in there?

 

Eating/Working Out

I eat a lot.  I love cheese.  Weight gain is a little higher than what it should be (according to the range “they” recommend)…  I still try to work out about 3-5 times a week but I keep it really basic (besides the week we moved, that was enough work out in itself).  Although, forget any stomach, leg lift in front of stomach, etc workouts – uncomfortable and of course you don’t notice any changes! haha 

Oh and I drink coffee again. 

 

What’s Next?

Since I’m pretty much going by the book right now, I like to know what to expect while I’m expecting…but Im not naïve enough to think at any point in time that could change (I’m soaking it up while I can).

There are lots of showers coming up!  Not just for me, I do event planning at church and we have 4 baby showers and 3 bridal showers so far since Feb – “ending” around Sept (for now). 

There are also lots of weddings coming up this spring/summer; I hope I (maybe even Haddon) can make appearances to the ones we’re invited to.

Our church is transitioning to a new building, in the City Center (where I work)!

My big sister graduates with her master’s in May and my baby brother graduates high school and is joining the Air Force.  It’s an exciting time of celebrating life I tell ya!

What I don’t know about what happens next is where we will live, how we will work, etc… and it’s insane where your mind can take you if you let it.  Good thing I am practiced on not worrying, have been given a sound mind, and am able to captivate thoughts quickly.  I am so thankful for the gift of faith bestowed on me and renewed in me day by day.

 

What I am NOT looking forward to

Figuring out how to work/have Haddon taken care of…

 

What I am looking forward to

Almost everything else, especially just meeting our son! 🙂

 

Picture

I have been TERRIBLE at taking pictures of my growth, which surprises me, I thought I would be the type to take one every week… 

Here I am at Lauren’s wedding (I think 22 weeks):

Posted on March 1, 2012, in Baby, Christian Women, Pregnancy, Thoughts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Natural birth is in no way easy, but it is doable! I was determined to go natural with Ezra. The benefits to baby was worth it to me. You can imagine how upset I was when my water broke and I did not go into labor. They informed me that they needed to induce. I had heard so many horror stories about Pitocin and induction. Thankfully, I came in fully armed with the knowledge of my patient rights and had a supportive midwife. When the contractions started getting uncomfortably strong I asked them to turn off the Pitocin (to see if my body had taken over) they agreed and sure enough it had. And with the support of Eric to keep me focused I made it without any pain medication. When Ezra was born he was alert, turning his head to hear Eric and my voice 🙂 It was all worth it!

    Two tips:
    Do not anticipate the next contraction.
    Remember when your contractions are right on top of each other and you can’t imagine it could be any more painful. You are close! Pushing is a relief!

    You can do it!

  2. Sarah, just remember you will have what you need, when you need it! I am very happy for you and Micah and Haddon’s entire extended family. Luv, Aunt Candie

Leave a Reply

