Sanctity of a Soul.

Ephesians 5:11 Take no part in the unfruitful works of darkness, but instead expose them

This blog started off VERY different.

It started off in a rant about abortion because of something I had read on CNN this morning… well comments someone made on an article.

Disclaimer: I know women who have made the decision to have an abortion and this is not to be a reminder to you or anyone else, so if you fit in that category, please don’t read this I don’t want to bring up past shame or hurt.  If you have been forgiven and freed from that, live in it, and cherish it, like we do with all we have been forgiven of.

1 John 1:9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness

Tbe article comment went something along the lines of this: “babies aren’t humans until they are born at 9 months old, they are parasites until then”.  Then of course there were your typical comments, “people aren’t going to stop having sex, so of course unwanted pregnancies are going to occur, people will never stop having abortions”, yada yada.

So instead of going off on how much I think that is disgusting, selfish and downright wrong (especially now that I am pregnant), some wise girlfriends told me… why not focus on the truth of life vs. going off about other’s views.  Good idea ladies, thank you for your wisdom and perspective.

I have a friend that had a baby at 25 weeks gestation.  Her beautiful son is certainly a human, and he was definitely not born at 9 months, way before it.  I saw him in the hospital as doctor’s fought endlessly for his human life, and as we all prayed without ceasing, and I have seen him since as a thriving little boy.

Just this morning I said to Micah, I can’t believe I have a little soul in me.  I can’t feel the babe yet and I don’t know its gender.  I don’t even know how it is doing.  We have our big ultrasound on February 2nd

At 19 weeks my child would probably not survive if it were born this early, BUT, it does have its bones, it has skin, eyes, ears, a digestive track, fingers, toes, etc!  

Psalm 139: 15-16 My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, Your eyes beheld my unformed substance. In your book were written all the days that were formed for me, when none of them as yet existed.

I know that in His word, the psalmist proclaims “I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.”

I know that in His word, speaking about Jeremiah He says, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, and before you were born I consecrated you; I appointed you a prophet to the nations.” And I don’t think He means He just knew Jeremiah either.

There are many other amazing verses that speak of my Creator’s infinite knowledge of human life, and because of these I can know and appreciate the sacredness of human life, because He does.

I realize that I look at everything from a biblical lens and many do not.  Still though… think about the miracle of conception, and birth and all the ones walking around!  It is truly amazing.  To anyone who claims they want to see a miracle, consider your life.

Throughout pregnancy the doctors offer you all kinds of tests you can get, to see if your baby is “normal”, if it will have a “normal” life.  I’m not saying there is anything wrong with getting those tests, but if I were to choose not to have my baby because the tests show “something,” there is something very wrong with that. 

I will not get the tests done, although it would allow more planning and preparation if we had to prepare for something unexpected.  I will carry the child no matter what.  My body is not my own anyway! It was bought with a price by the blood of Christ and I am to glorify Him with it.  Not decide what would be ideal, convenient, easiest, better for me, etc.

Look at these images and be amazed, not disturbed and just pray for an understanding and appreciation of life. 

 John 8:32- and you will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.

If you want to read some sermons or artciles by pastor John Piper, download is ebook here.

Posted on January 19, 2012, in Baby, Bible Verses, children, Christian Men, Christian Women, Pregnancy and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Hi Sarah,
    I noticed that you are a follower of my blog. My parents have asked me to make my blog private and I just wanted to give you the opportunity to continue following. If you are interested then please send me your e-mail address at: JacquelineMBittner@gmail.com so I can add you to my invite list. Thanks!
    Love and blessings,
    ~Jacqueline

Leave a Reply

