Grace Play.

You don’t stop playing because you grow old, you grow old because you stop playing.

I would recite that saying after every ballet class, and every time we left Christianson Family Land Park when I was young.

When I was young, I played all day long… our neighborhood was suited for it too.  We would spend hours outside playing “make believe”. 

  • Apple Bee Corporation – (in the crab apple trees, where we were business ladies)
  • Applesauce Making – (a whole box of mom’s Ziploc bags filled with freshly poured sand from our playground)
  • House- (in one particular episode we were single moms taking care of three kids)
  • Dancing Princesses- (my sister was the director and I had to be prince Siegfried with an eyeliner drawn beard while all the other girls got to wear their Halloween princess dresses)

We had active minds, thoroughly engaged in doing whatever it was that we were doing (even if it was make believe).

We had active bodies, playing from dawn until dusk (even after we all had gone home for baths, we would come BACK outside when we heard the frozen custard man and somehow convince our parents that we still needed to play even in our pjs).

Two nights ago, I was baking pumpkin cookies with brown butter frosting (someday I will post that must eat fall recipe) while my husband was asleep on the floor, in between batches I was starching and ironing his shirts for work.  I loved every second of it.

I want to enjoy all the moments given in this lifetime, from dawn until dusk.  So often we go through our 40hr work week, go to church, bible study, run errands, and frankly, just stick to our “to do” lists.  The things we should do, or need to do.  I realize time is precious but how often do we do things for play?

Do we learn or engage in a hobby or try and pick up new skills?  Do we try to identify the gifts the Lord has given us to be used for His body?  Do we worship through our hobbies, skills, and personal play or is it just for our enjoyment?

Last night at kingdom group we had to say what we wanted to be when we were 8 years old.  I have always wanted to be a mom and wife.  Always. 

I will never be an actress or help people be healed through acting and movement like my sister.

I will never be a corporate, innovative car business man making enough money to support missionaries and give like my brother.

I will never be a pilot and rescue people or deliver supplies, etc like my younger brother might grow up to do.

However, I will use the common grace the Lord has given me through being able to breathe, move, connect, think, relate, speak, hear, and engage and use those graces to point towards His special saving grace. 

I want to be actively engaged in preparing for eternity.  I don’t want to waste the days thinking just on my “to do” lists and earthly goals. 

I am praying that the Lord would give me a vision of what He wants for this family, now and in the future.  Until then, as my dad would say, we will, “bloom where we’re planted”. 

I am hoping that I will not get old and realized I stopped playing when I was 25 because I was too busy with “to do” lists and tasks of this world to prepare myself, my family, and others for eternity.

I am praying the Lord would use Micah and me mightily for His kingdom.

  • What about yall? 
  • Do you get too caught up in the here and now? 
  • What are your gifts and how do you use them for Him? For yourself? 
  • How do you keep kingdom focused and keep your lamps burning, waiting for our blessed hope that is coming quickly?! 

Ephesians 2:8-9 For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.

Colossians 3:17 And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.

1 Corinthians 10:31 So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God.

Posted on September 28, 2011, in Baking, Bible Study, Christian Men, Christian Women, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

