Shake Up to Wake Up.

An earthquake in Virginia?

I struggle when things get hard sometimes, honestly, I do.

What is each day’s purpose? Am I making an impact? Am I doing enough for the glory of God?

“Why don’t I just go overseas and be a missionary, oh I don’t think I’m ready for that yet, and I certainly don’t want to go to copout of everyday American living, I want to go in obedience to Christ”

I have NO doubt that He used my job to bring us here.  Read about that story here.

Most of the time, I like my job.  I love the commute, the people, etc.

However, the process of client expectations, budgets, deadlines, it all can be messy in my line of work!

 The content of the material is literally challenging me in ways I didn’t know they could. 

  1.  I am not an engineer. 
  2.  I never was good at math. 

My high school friends can validate, I took all the integrated stuff.  Geometry A and then B, cause I couldn’t handle a full load of the course all at once.  Well, in engineering, they do a whole lot more than geometry.  Let me tell you, I’m talking trigonometry, scientific calculators and all.

So yesterday, when the earthquake shook it reminded me to put things in perspective. 

We were in a meeting, talking about rewriting hours of cognitive level 3 scenario based test questions on material that I hardly understand in the first place.  Then we shook a little.

My mind was already shaking, and probably my eyes too on the verge of tears (although I dare not let anyone see that) for feelings of inadequacy and frustration.

The earthquake shook me back to perspective and made me think about eternal things, not temporal things.

Sometimes we need a little shaking to wake up and get a grip on reality.

Here is a dose encouragement from others and Him of true reality:

1. We are to endure and run hard races.  That looks different for all of us and happens in different seasons.

Hebrews 12:1 Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight, and sin which clings so closely, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus, the founder and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is seated at the right hand of the throne of God.

2. There are different seasons.

Ecclesiastes 3:1, 3“There is a time for everything, and a season for every activity under heaven…a time to kill and a time to heal, a time to tear down and a time to build….”

3. We should be humble, about everything.  Our jobs, our family, our ministries, our ambitions, they should be for His glory.

2     Chronicles 7: 14 if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land.

4. We shouldn’t try to be confident in our own ability any way, it is Him who works in us.

2 Corinthians 3:4-5 Such is the confidence that we have through Christ toward God. Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God,

Philippians 2:12 Therefore, my beloved, as you have always obeyed, so now, not only as in my presence but much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling, 13 for it is God who works in you, both to will and to work for his good pleasure.

5. His ways are so much bigger than we know, and we don’t always know His purpose in things but He who began a work in us will finish it

Isaiah 55:9 For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.

Ecclesiastes 11:5 As you do not know the way the spirit comes to the bones in the womb of a woman with child, so you do not know the work of God who makes everything.

6. Repent for the kingdom of God is at hand.  I am not one of those people to get all wrapped up about end times, however, with that said, if God took you today through an earthquake, hurricane, or anything else, do you know where you would spend eternity?  In order for us to spend it with Him we need His son to advocate for us.  So repent, turn from your sins and call upon His wonderful name.

Matthew 3:2 “Repent, for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.”

Matthew 24:36 “But concerning that day and hour no one knows, not even the angels of heaven, nor the Son,  but the Father only.

What do you need a more eternal perspective on? Is it a job? A relationship? bills? etc.  I pray He will give you one.

Posted on August 24, 2011, in Bible Verses, Christian Men, Christian Women, Instructional Systems Designer, Job, Newport News and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

