Body Movements.

by Micah.

1 Corinthians 12:4-7 (ESV): Now there are varieties of gifts, but the same Spirit; and there are varieties of service, but the same Lord; and there are varieties of activities, but it is the same God who empowers them all in everyone. To each is given manifestation of the Spirit for the common good….1 Cor 12:12: For just as the body is one and has many members, and all the members of the body, though many, are one body, so it is with Christ.

I love the Lord’s church. Particularly, I love seeing the church function as a body, with different members playing different roles as we use the Lord’s gifts to us and the personalities and talents that He’s given us. I love when the church comes together to sacrificially take care and love one another all to proclaim God’s name to the world.

An easy example of this was at our wedding. Family and friends, without hesitation, served us to save thousands and thousands of dollars. It was a beautiful display of a vibrant and healthy church operating in unison as a body.

Recently, I’ve gone through the humbling, yet sin revealing season of unemployment for much of this summer, I’ve been applying for jobs. It’s quite the patience-testing experience as there are always more jobs opportunities to fill out applications for and there are always more job-finding websites to sign up for. It becomes a full-time job as my job in the season of unemployment was to find a job!

These two things (my unemployment and the Lord’s gift of the church) have recently been linked together in many ways, but one in particular has been the reoccurring blessing from Jon and Lauren White at By Grace Community Church and them taking the opportunity to unceasingly serve me (and by extension Sarah and the Lord) in inexhaustible ways.

“And let our people learn to devote themselves to good works, so as to help cases of urgent need, and not be unfruitful”- Titus 3:14

I brought up the prayer request (what seemed like years ago!) of the fact that I was looking for a job at their house during a Bible study when I didn’t even know their names yet. Since then, adding to the most powerful help of all, prayer, they
have been indescribably beneficial. From that point on Jon has consistently (yet in a humble, caring, and genuine way!) asked about my job situation as he entertained me by humbling me in ping pong or Frisbee or some other activity. His mind was continually motivated to help me think of different people to talk to, routes to take, and options to investigate. His job radar that he turned on was consistent over the course of months.

Jon’s wife Lauren, (being the utterly gifted guide concerning jobs and resumes etc. that she is) has all but shown up to interview for me in the process as well.

She:
– Volunteered her help after humbly acknowledging she could be a help!
– Reformatted and provided changes to my resume multiple times
– Sat down to talk about preparing for interviews
– Sent me lists of questions to prepare for, and how to answer those questions
– Assessed specific job advertisements and provided recommendations for my cover letter

I needed a job. I thank the Lord for Jon and Lauren and many many others at By Grace here in Newport News that have come alongside me in prayer, care, and action to love and help out in ways that I feel confident in saying that I wouldn’t
have gotten a job otherwise.

Supplemental to all of that, Jon got me a Chic-fil-a shirt that I can wear and get a free original Chic-fil-a sandwich every Wednesday. Just a little extra drop of grace!

“And let our people learn to devote themselves to good works, so as to help cases of urgent need, and not be unfruitful”- Titus 3:14

Posted on August 15, 2011, in Bible Verses, Christian Men, Christian Women, Church, Newport News. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

