By the Book.

I received a devotion the other day about how we often treat the bible like a manual, you know… only read it when we or something in our life is broken.

Then last night sitting around the pool (with grilled hobo meals and corn on the cob, banana pudding ok anway) we were asking about what has been the most transformative  or what has been our favorite book.

I’ve read a lot of good books in all types of genres.  I had to give the christian cliche answer though, the Bible.

Although many books Ive read have been practical, eye-opening, gripping, made me cry, laugh, or made me stay up all night under the covers with a booklight, not get in the ocean cause I cant put it down, ignore my phone type of reading, one book has rocked my self, my senses, my emotions, my mind, my soul, it says even my marrow. 

that book is the Bible, those 66 books (well 65 cause I still havent read all of Revelation).

I would read it every now and then when I was younger, I would always ask my dad to read the stories that had babies in them.  Just cause I liked babies.

I would read it every now and then as an adolescent, I had a teen study bible and it had interesting topic inserts on money, dating, sex, feelings, etc.  The inserts are really what I read.

I read it my junior year of college because I was broken.  I treated it like a dusty old manual I thought might give me some insight on life. But I read it. (The Macarthur commentary one came later…)

Reading the Bible did more for me than any Bible study, any mentor, any evangelist, any trac, anything or anyone. 

Hebrews 4:12

For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart.

God showed me in His word:

  • who I was without Him
  • who He was making me to be
  • most importantly, who He was and has always been 

From those three lessons came a ton of subtopic lessons which brought  a complete heart, mind, and life change and they change still as His word continues to teach and reveal new things to me.   

His sacrifice saves me.  His kindness leads me to repentence.  His grace frees me from guilt and condemnation.  His promises are what I hold onto in good times and bad. 

2 Timothy 3:16-17

16 All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, 17 that the man of God  may be competent, equipped for every good work.

Dont wait like I did, go read it now.  Seriously, what’s the worst that can happen?  What’s the best?  You’ll have to read consistently for a bit to find out! 🙂

Posted on June 22, 2011, in Bible Study, Bible Verses, Christian Women, Sin, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

