Mayday.

“A Mayday situation is one in which a vessel, aircraft, vehicle, or person is in grave and imminent danger and requires immediate assistance.” – Wikipedia (I know… as a graduate student I should not quote Wikipedia)

The word “Mayday” comes from the French word m’aider. “Venez m’aider” means “come help me.”

The word “help” occurs 156 times in the ESV bible.  For lots of instances, when help didn’t seem near, commands to help others, being helped, and more.

The past four or five weeks have been intense, to say the least.  Just crazy busy, in my mind, with work, in the evenings, on the weekends, etc!   

All throughout Scripture, one can find example after example of God rescuing His people.  Time and time again, He is bringing someone from darkness to light, pulling someone out of a pit, showing forgiveness and mercy where none is deserved and cannot be earned, comforting and healing, answering prayers, humbling, even feeding people, and so much more.

Help can look different depending on the situation and person.  My Creator is in the business of rescuing and restoring.  We can use all the theological and doctrinal words we want, but when it comes down to simplicity- we ALL need His help, in all things. 

Sometimes, pleading for help can be the most honest heart cry, ever.  “Abba, please help me” “Help me find a job.” “Help me do well at my job.” “Help me serve my church.” “Help my marriage.” “Help my heart, I miss him/her.” “Help me be a better ________.” “Help me with self-control with ___________.”  “Help me stop sinning in this area.” “Help me understand scripture.” “Help me be a good helper and respect my husband.” “Help me lead my wife and love her well.” “Help me love, discipline, and teach my children well every minute today.” And the pleas go on and on.

I won’t pretend I knew what I was asking for when I first cried out for help from God.  To be honest, in retrospect, I almost was “trying Him out”, to see what “He could do for me”. 

I was at a point in my life where I just needed a lot of help, with everything- eating disorder, school, friendships, relationships with guys, drinking, perspective, etc.  I just wasn’t doing a very good job with living life, and I knew it.  I believed in a God even though I didn’t know much about Him.  I cried out for help one night my junior year of college on my living room floor (with the help of Lauren and Liz).  Oh boy did He answer, and now the tables are turned; I try to ask “God, what can I do for you?” 

I wouldn’t recommend, “trying God out”.  I must confess my intentions weren’t the best.  However, being His merciful self and I suppose longsuffering with my ignorance for the time being, He did help me. 

I used to tell my testimony in such a way that made it look like a checklist,  “and then I stopped doing this, this, and this”.  Ugh… I wish I could retell it to people, not because you couldn’t see the joy of Christ in my heart and eyes, no, that was there…but because what He helped me stopped doing is great, but it isn’t the main point.

He sent His son to save the lost and make a people for Himself to glorify and be satisfied in Him forever, that is the main point.  We are all sinners.  Everyone is in need of His help, and without it, will perish someday.  He did send help, a long time ago- He sent it through His son.  Believing and trusting in Him who saved me, is the only way to the Father who rules the earth and all eternity.

The simple truth is this, when I gave my life to Christ (the help plan since over 2000 years ago), He helped me. 

He continues to help me in every moment of every day.  He can help you too. 

When I’m prone to a million different things, He helps me.  I have His Spirit living inside of me, a constant reminder and ever present living help.

Don’t be ashamed to ask for help.  Cry out to Him.  “God, please help me”.  Whether it’s the first time, or for patience at work or home, or to get a task done, or to forgive someone that has wronged you, or to be a good parent, to love and serve sacrificially, to believe, etc.

Admit if you and your life are in a bit of a mayday and ask Him for help.

Psalm 121:2 My help comes from the LORD, who made heaven and earth.

Posted on May 25, 2011, in Bible Verses, Christian Women, Sin, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

