Satisfied.

I was driving to work this morning, I only have like a 3-minute commute (I know, I know I should just walk).  Anyway, in this 3-minute commute my Lord let me be convicted and touched deeply by a song on the radio. 

“Open Up the Sky”

Some of the lyrics are:

Our beloved Father, please come down and meet us
We are waiting for Your touch
Open up the heavens, shower down your presence
We respond to Your great love

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary,
We won’t be satisfied at all

Open up the sky, fall down like rain
We don’t want blessings, We want You
Open up the sky, fall down like fire
We don’t want anything but You

Our beloved Jesus, we just wanna see You
In the glory of Your light.
Earthly things don’t matter, They just fade and shatter
When we’re touched by love divine.

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary
We won’t be satisfied at all

Open up the sky, fall down like rain
We don’t want blessings, we want You
Open up the sky, fall down like fire
We don’t want anything but You

Here we go, let’s go to the throne
The place that we belong, right into His arms

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary,
We won’t be satisfied at all.

A lady from church who I was supposed to have dinner with last night with a couple other women had a stroke.  This morning they found an aneurism.  This is after she already had neurosurgery last night.  To date, she has had two surgeries since last night and she is unresponsive.  Her name is Donna Borges and she came to By Grace with her husband to minister to the younger community. 

Here is an example from an email from her, “This evening was a sweet time of fellowship for me.  It blesses my heart to see young women like each one of you desirous to please your Lord and love your husbands well.”

One of my first thoughts was why is Satan trying to attack our growing community in this way?!  Then fortunately I remembered Satan does not have more control over the God of the universe.  Nothing goes past Him.  So for whatever reasons, Donna is in a coma in the hospital.  Please pray for her and for a full recovery.  That the body at By Grace would be bonded and strengthened through this time and we could rally up alongside her husband and sons.  Deep community often happens through experiencing life together, or death.  We are praying for the first.  So please, please pray for her and her family right now.

She is a lover of God, and He might decide to take her home, to heaven.  The prognosis is 50/50.

I started meeting with a girl here this week and I had like four pages of questions to get to know her spiritually.  One of those questions (we didn’t get to obviously haha but girl if you are reading this get ready for it!) is, “do you think about heaven, or how often do you think about heaven?”

I don’t think we think about it enough.  We can get so comfortable.  We can like life here a lot.  Not that there is anything wrong with that… He loves to give us joy, to see us peaceful, etc… 

Read those lyrics again…

Here we go, let’s go to the throne
The place that we belong, right into His arms

We won’t be satisfied with anything ordinary,
We won’t be satisfied at all.

Open up the sky, fall down like rain
We don’t want blessings, We want You

But why is the majority of the time I think about our King returning to get us and take us home, when He decides to take someone else home? 

Or when things don’t seem “blessed”? 

Why am I satisfied with ordinary life and earthly desires sometimes? 

Why do I live like I have tomorrow? 

Is it hard for you to keep things in perspective sometimes?  I know I’m probably not alone in this.  What do you do, think about, etc to keep an eternal perspective?

“If I find in myself desires which nothing in this world can satisfy, the only logical explanation is that I was made for another world.” – C.S. Lewis

Posted on April 14, 2011, in Christian Women, Newport News, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

