Sancitification and Fear.

2 Timothy 1: 7, for God gave us a spirit not of fear but of power and love and self-control.

Believers have such a greater hope to rise someday, be away from pain & persecution, suffering & sorrow… fall on our knees in front of the glory of the universe, and worship with the angels and tongues and tribes from every nation!!! (What a magnificent thought).  Until then we will be sanctified (made more like Christ).

The other day at Kingdom Group some of us were talking about what we are afraid of. 

One woman threw out that she was afraid because she was a mom of two little girls.  That wasn’t it though, even though a million and half things could be feared when you are a parent (I don’t really know, but I can imagine) she was afraid that God would allow something to sanctify her girls that would break her.  With tears in her eyes and on her cheeks, she was gut wrenchingly honest.  We need more of that, thank you lady 😉

I know a lot of gut wrenching stories of sanctification.  A lot of my friends or friends of friends have been or are being sanctified in ways that seem unreal, death of parents, friends & children, illness, disease, etc.  and many have been through remarkable but trying adventures.

One thing that I mentioned was being fearful that Micah and I wouldn’t have unity in future plans. We know that the Lord has our path laid out, but we do the walking… It’s not that I imagine the American dream so much… but Micah imagines moreso than I, an overseas life ministering and making disciples (you know… completely biblical, honorable, etc haha) I imagine more of the work a couple more years, pop out kids, move to a farmette and raise little disciples.  Anyway, maybe it can be both.  What I am sometimes fearful of though is that when Micah is ready to go, I won’t be… that I won’t have the same desire.  I want to be his helper and encourager, not the hindrance.  I pray the Lord will prepare me for this (if it is His will). 

In all of it (even thinking about fears) tragedy and non, we have to be reminded of His promises-

He is in control (take your pick, haha but here is one… John 16:33).

He works all things for good for those that love Him (Romans 8:28).

He makes beauty from ashes (Isaiah 61).

Satan intends things for evil, God makes them good (Genesis 50:20).

Come what may, and it will come, sanctification will look different or similar for all of us, He is purifying a people for His own possession, zealous for good works, (reference Titus 2: 14) He loves us that much.

Romans 8:38 For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

HalleluYAH some things remain and are not circumstantial, like His grace being sufficient (2 Corinthians 12:9) that isn’t circumstantial, it is in every circumstance. Amen to that.

This morning my manager (who I am more than thankful for) was asking me questions about Micah and his studies and encouraged me that if he goes into ministry full time I should quit my job and be by his side to be most effective for him and God!  She encouraged me that because I love people, I would be a great missionary’s wife.  She said she is excited to see what and where God takes Micah and me over the years.   

I pray that I would be a woman that smiles at her future (Proverbs 31:25b) and that the only fear in me would be a healthy fear of the Lord.

Pray for us would you?  Pray that Micah and I would have unity in future ideas and that we would walk step by step beside one another along the path God has laid out before us (that Micah wouldn’t have to pull me up to him hehe).

What do you fear brother or sister?

Isaiah 41: 10 fear not, for I am with you; be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you, I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

Posted on March 4, 2011, in Christian Women, Marriage, Missionaries, Thoughts. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. first of all how did you find time to write this between making coffee cake for 60 and work this morning? You are a BEAUTIFUL vessel pouring out His love and wisdom my sweet daughter.
    FEAR Not – our loving Heavenly father knows the plans He has for you… and they are for you to be as one. This too has been one of my fears in life – that I would not be able to keep up with your daddy…. buy YHWH has been so gracious to bring opportunities to our doorstep (as you have witnessed throughout your life)
    PS – the NN Hood is pretty comparable to third world missions – have you ever read the book Acres of Diamonds? 🙂
    Have a wonderful day,
    xoxox mom

Leave a Reply

