No Greater Love.

I’m in Ephesians right now during quiet times, so I loved that God spoke to me through Ephesians 5:1- 2 this morning.

Ephesians 5:1-2 says this, Therefore be imitators of God, as beloved children. 2And walk in love, as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us, a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

To imitate someone is to follow or mimic them.
Christ literally walked in love as He carried His own death weapon to Calvary.
Out of sacrificial love, He humbled Himself and was the ultimate sacrifice to His Father- so that the Father’s glory could be displayed.

Loving someone, anyone sacrificially is action oriented.
I want my family, my parents, my friends, and strangers, to not only feel, but KNOW they are loved by me, and loved well.
You see, Christ loved me so well, that He humbled Himself and died for my sins, He gave me a new heart, one that is able to love because it’s led by His Spirit. I pray that I won’t stifle it either, because, by myself- I’m not gonna lie, I’m not the best at loving. I can love others through Him though, by imitating Him. I’ve been learning how to do this every day for like 5 years. It’s still a process and always will be, it’s called being made holy, it’s called sanctification.

Today and every day, I’m thankful for a man that imitates Christ as best as he is able, and leads me to do the same, he sanctifies me through our imitating love of Christ and His bride.

I can use the words, I love you to Micah all I want (and I do, all the time) but he really knows I love him, when I am respectful, sacrificial, teachable, gentle in my speech and kind with my words, when I imitate The Word.

John 1:1-3 1In the beginning was the Word and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. 2He was in the beginning with God. 3All things were made through him, and without him was not anything made that was made.

So, yes today and every day tell someone with your words, “I love you” and really mean it. But also, today like hopefully every day, get it The Word and read all about true love, if you haven’t ever, let today be your first and be amazed by the love of Christ, and The Father who created you in His image. Then we can really show true love when we know the source from which it comes.

Micah- thank you for being an imitator of Him, you love me well, everyday.

Also, if you’re looking for some good songs today, these have been on repeat for me 🙂

At the Cross- Hillsong
Oh Lord You’ve searched me
You know my way
Even when I fail You
I know You love me

Your holy presence
Surrounding me
In every season
I know You love me
I know You love me

At the cross I bow my knee
Where Your blood was shed for me
There’s no greater love than this
You have overcome the grave
Your glory fills the highest place
What can separate me now

You go before me
You shield my way
Your hand upholds me
I know You love me

You tore the veil
You made a way
When You said that it is done

And when the earth fades
Falls from my eyes
And You stand before me
I know You love me
I know You love me

No Not One- Christy Nockels
No better word than from Your lips
No perfect life than what You lived
No greater gift, no not one

No brighter star has ever shined
No better hope for all mankind
No higher mind, no not one

No one has ever known
This kind of love You’ve shown

There has never been a greater love
Than Your son
No, Not one
And there will never be a name above
No, Not one

With His life You have forgiven us
Hope has come
Hope has come
And there will never be a greater love
No, Not one

No image true or sweeter frame
No simple word can match Your name
No greater fame
No not one

No one has ever seen
The depth of Your majesty

No greater call – You gave us all a reason to live
No greater love – You gave us all a reason to give
No greater life – You gave us all a reason to shine
No greater love – forever mine!

Posted on February 14, 2011, in Marriage, Thoughts, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

