Thinking on Traditions and Truth.

O Holy Night! The stars are brightly shining,
It is the night of the dear Saviour’s birth.
Long lay the world in sin and error pining.
Till He appeared and the Spirit felt its worth.
A thrill of hope the weary world rejoices,
For yonder breaks a new and glorious morn.
Fall on your knees! Oh, hear the angel voices!
O night divine, the night when Christ was born;
O night, O Holy Night , O night divine!
O night, O Holy Night , O night divine!

_____________________________________

For years the questions of holiday traditions swirl in my mind each time a holiday comes around.

I don’t get all crazy about a lot of things having to do with Christmas… it’s not that I am a scrooge or anything.  I just don’t see how a lot of things we do to celebrate have anything to do with the bible or what we say we are celebrating.  They are just common traditions and a lot of them stem from stuff that is kinda weird if you ask me.  I know, I know I am in a small percentage than the rest of the world. 

However, it doesn’t mean I am against doing a lot of those things it just means I question everything I do and why I do it.  I never want to do anything for doing it sake, or because everyone else does it.  I want it to have purpose, I want it to remind me and others, I want it to teach, I want Him to be the center and I want Him glorified.  Also, if I am ever so poor I can’t afford a present worth a dime or am homeless or whatever the case may be, I don’t want it to mean “we can’t have Christmas this year”.  I can celebrate that The Word became flesh and dwelt among us in a lot of ways… when thinking about how we will handle holidays in the years to come I just want to make sure I am not doing things because they are commonplace traditions but because they glorify my Creator.

Micah found this cool book “Treasuring our Traditions” check it out, she has a lot of good ideas about how to have biblical traditions all year round with your family.  _________________________________________________

So, even if our Messiah wasn’t born exactly on December 25th, even if the wise men came to visit him when he was a toddler not a baby in a manager.  Here is what is SO true about why I recognize His significant birth:

The Heavenly Son, the Word, through Him all things were created, became flesh, left His Heavenly Throne Room where He was surrounded by Angels singing about His Holiness. 

He humbled Himself to be born in a stench manger to a family that was going to be looked down upon because of His “illegitimate birth”, to a family that wouldn’t recognize who He was, to people that mocked Him, spit on Him, accused Him of being demon possessed, antagonized Him, and eventually crucified Him.  He came to a broken world full of perversity, sorrow, and pain.  He left His Father and became a babe. 

All so that I and many of you could be set free from the captivity of sin, from Satan’s reign, from hell, from death once and for all.   He was His Father’s perfect plan of redemption. 

The world still lays in sin and error pining, but there is a way to get to the Father and be justified.  His Son, my Messiah.  He paid it all.

Oh heck yes this weary soul is going to rejoice!

How do you rejoice over the Father sending His Son with your family and friends?  I’d love to hear ideas.

 ________________________________________

One of my all time favorite and beautiful carols

O come, O come, Emmanuel
And ransom captive Israel
That mourns in lonely exile here
Until the Son of God appear
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, Thou Rod of Jesse, free
Thine own from Satan’s tyranny
From depths of Hell Thy people save
And give them victory o’er the grave
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, Thou Day-Spring, come and cheer
Our spirits by Thine advent here
Disperse the gloomy clouds of night
And death’s dark shadows put to flight.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, Thou Key of David, come,
And open wide our heavenly home;
Make safe the way that leads on high,
And close the path to misery.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

O come, O come, Thou Lord of might,
Who to Thy tribes, on Sinai’s height,
In ancient times did’st give the Law,
In cloud, and majesty and awe.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel
Shall come to thee, O Israel.

Posted on December 23, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

