Adornment of Women

As I think about this for myself, for my future daughters, for my nieces, my friends, etc I found the following links extremely beneficial.  I won’t try to preach it to you myself, as I struggle and teeter with what is “okay” for a woman representing Christ to wear, I think it would be hypocritical.  Plus, I’m not here to judge anyone or make anyone feel condemned for what they feel like is “okay”.  I will submit the questions though- What message are we sending about ourselves by the way we not only dress but how we act?  What message are we teaching our children, boys and girls, about what women are supposed to look and act like?  What message are we sending about what God’s word has to say about these topics?  Do we believe Him or do we believe our culture?  It’s pretty tough stuff I think. 

Before you go clicking on the links, I’ll give you a heads up of what they may be like…

In the words of John Piper, in one of the sermons linked at the bottom “no ladies I don’t think you want to say that with those jeans!” 

Her body, her self, her god

A challenge to women

Is modesty an issue in the church today?

Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God

How to Submit to the Righteousness of God

A Woman Who Fears the Lord Is to Be Praised

Holy Women Who Hoped in God

The Soul of Modesty

Worldliness: Resisting the Seduction of a Fallen World   

tough stuff women… whatcha think?

Posted on December 22, 2010, in Christian Women. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I love my wife, thanks for representing the Lord in your life and in our relationship.

Leave a Reply

