I love to read.

since when?  I dont know. that was always my sister’s job when we were little and she did all the voices!

Anyway, I love it now a lot.  So does Micah.  Here are some books that have been read or are being read by the Downs lately.

1.  Pilgrim’s Progress

an allegory of a Christian’s life.  filled with adventure, sacrifice, suffering, joy… we read it on our honeymoon.  its an oldie but goodie.

2. This Momentary Marriage

wow- cant say enough good things about this book.  read it even if your engaged or think you might get married someday. definitely read it if youre married.  basically, represents the title.  we’re not married in eternity so how much should our marriages reflect the roles of Christ and his bride right now?

3. Sacred Marriage

product description:

“Starting with the discovery that the goal of marriage goes beyond personal happiness, writer and speaker Gary Thomas invites readers to see how God can use marriage as a discipline and a motivation to love him more and reflect more of the character of his Son”

4. The Magician’s Nephew

I’ve actually never read the Narnia series.  Micah has.  We read it in the car with all the driving we do nowadays.  I do the english accents =)

5. How Starbuck’s Saved My Life

I dont normally read books of a non-spiritual nature but its an easy, quick read.  basically about a guy who used to be top notch man in advertising, etc gets fired partially due to his age and ends up losing almost everything until he is offered a job at starbucks.  its an interesting view on worldview, class, race, reflection, and circumstances.

6. Radical : Taking Back Your Faith from the American Dream

I wish I could just copy/paste this whole book so I know you got to read some of the words, but of course that would be ridiculous.  if you are a christian, please read this book.  even if you arent, I think you would find it really interesting.  it is challenging my worldview in a lot of ways.

7. The Jesus You Cant Ignore

here is the product description:

“Meek and mild. Politically correct. A great teacher. These are the popular depictions of Jesus. But they aren’t the complete picture. Maybe because it’s uncomfortable, or maybe because it’s inconvenient, Christians and non-Christians alike are overlooking the fierceness of the Savior, His passionate mission to make the Gospel clear and bring people into the Kingdom of God. A mission that required he sometimes raise his voice and sometimes raise a whip.

In the much-needed message in The Jesus You Can’t Ignore, renowned Bible teacher and best-selling author John MacArthur reintroduces the compelling and often unsettling passion of Jesus’ ministry. MacArthur points to the picture of the real Jesus the world is so eager to gloss over. And he calls readers to emulate Jesus’ commitment to further the kingdom by confronting lies and protecting the truth of God”

8.  Spiritual-Mindedness

Micah is reading this one so I cant say much except sometimes the things that come out of his mouth from this book are mind-boggling.

9.  Adoniram Judson

this man was not afraid of giving up an affluent life of influence, wealth, health, status quo etc to reach people who had never heard the gospel.  he also translated the entire bible into Bermese.

10. Scripture

oh you know, just the inerrant word of God that is “God-breathed and is useful for teaching, rebuking, correcting and training in righteousness, so that the man of God may be thoroughly equipped for every good work.” 2 Timothy 3:16-17

have you read any good books lately?

Posted on September 9, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. I’m reading the Bible for the first time cover to cover. With two kids under four it’s a challenge. I read during naps and even pretend to have to go ‘potty’ and read in the bathroom!!! I hate to say it but it’s kinda frustrating me, I want to understand it so bad, but some days I feel like it’s written in Martian!!! Maybe you can help me with this? Also, I got Cam a toddlers bible that came with a DVD. We watch it almost everyday, I love watching him while he watches, I can see so much wonder in his eyes. After church on Sunday he informed me that ‘ God made all the plants, so many if them that you can’t count them all mommy’ He makes me laugh. Again, I’d really like to talk with or even get together with you and Micah bk Scott and I are new at this and we could use some pointers. Thanks again for sharing your blogs with us.

Leave a Reply

