Washed with the Word.

We’ve been married two months today!  What an adventure it has been already.  I, Sarah, let’s be real… who do you think posts all the blogs? have decided to share a couple things I have learned so far.  In no particular order:

1. Micah is ridiculously easy to please.

While this is true, I still try.  It’s exciting to bless someone that you adore.  For example, we are having friends spend the night tonight so last night I thought it would be fun to sleep outside, like old times.  Old times, being the first month we were married.  So I sure did drag my pillowtop mattress cover into the back of my explorer, put the seats down and made a huge comfy bed.  Then backed my car up as far as I could into the woods.  You have to know my husband 😉

2. God always provides.

Micah is working part time at a histology lab in Mt. Jackson while I look for more of a “career type” job.

3. I am selfish.

Micah doesnt ever tell me so, but I am.  Being around someone 24/7 really shows me who I am and how much more I need to strive to be like Christ.

4. The Gospel.

That’s right.  I thought I grasped it before, I am realizing I will never fully understand the weight and significance of the gospel and I strive every day to try and comprehend that I have been justified.

5. Doctrine and Theology.

Silly, but I used to major on the minors in a way… I think women (not all, just in general) can tend to leave the weighty stuff of the word to the men.  Truth is though if I want to be a mother someday, whether it is to my own biological children or not I need to understand it, live it, and be able to teach it.

6. Things.

I can live without a lot of my “stuff” if I have to.  Most of it has been in the garage since I moved out of the house on Chestnut Dr.  Sure sometimes I miss my decor and little trinkets but I definitely do not need them…

7. Sufficiency of Scripture.

We have read so many good books, heard great advice, etc before and since being married.  Most of it has been extremely helpful.  When it comes to life though, the bible is really all we need.

8. Ministry.

For the last four years I have seen what “ministry looks like” in a church.  So now that I live out in the boondocks (which dont get me wrong, I am extremely thankful for) it is harder for church to be my main ministry.  God is allowing my ministry to be towards my husband.  I love ministering towards him, and it is great to prioritize him right now before we move, get jobs, and life gets busy.

9. Love.

Love within marriage is so so sweet.

10. I am believing more and more that I might be a missionary’s wife.

I’d be lying if I said it didnt terrify me.  I know that my Lord has not given me a spirit of fear but it’s just something I never really thought about for myself, the Lord is convicting me on not having a heart for the lost.  I dont know when or where but I may learn what it is like to “lose my life” at least to America and maybe physically someday for the gospel.  Pray for my mind and heart to be prepared for when and if this happens.

Besides all those things, I am learning to be patience as I look for a job so I can help pay off my student loans. hehe

In Him with gratitude,

Sarah

Posted on August 27, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

